Skip to content

Who Do You Want to Be? (Pt 2)

November 12, 2010

So perhaps my post yesterday did not make sense. Let me sense-itize you.

Who, huh?

Who?

So who do you want to be? I thought of a way to explain this while I was driving. Would you rather be a millionaire… but your money came from being an anonymous Nigerian prince who scammed thousands of others out of their money? Or would you rather be… comfortable, to say the least, but knowing that your money came from ethical means?

The choice you choose defines your character. Not your being or entity, just what values you … well, value! Personally, I value integrity, honesty, humility, hard-working-ness (yes I just made two words this post! I’m gonna be famous!) The problem is, many people cannot answer that question honestly. Sure, it’s easy to say “Of course I’d rather be comfortable and ethically getting money!” But faced with the situation, would you do the right thing? Would you do the ethical thing?

Here’s another example. A thief robs a bank, and you’re the only witness. But he offers you $1 million to shut up say you saw nothing. If I asked any of you to comment your decision, you’d definitely say “Hell no! I’m takin’ you to prison!”

But would you really do that if faced with the decision? $1 million is a lot of money… if spent wisely, you’d be job free for the rest of your life. You’d be able to live where you want to live… do what you want to do… with who you want to do it with. You sure you want to pass up that money? No one will ever know…

So what would you really do? Don’t answer to me. The answer is only important to yourself. And don’t lie to yourself. Of course there’s going to be a conflict of interest. You think of yourself as a highly ethical person, no doubt about that, but your heart would be tugging at you to take the money. You’d tell yourself “I wouldn’t take the money, I’m more ethical than that!” but half your heart would be telling you, “it’s okay!!”

So what would you do? Think about it. And think about if you really want to be that person. That person who would take the money. Chances are, you are that person. Am I that person? Honestly, I couldn’t tell you. I would like to think that my ethics are high enough to be able to resist a huge temptation like that. Plus, I already have an amazing opportunity on my hands and soon enough, I probably won’t even need that money. But we’re looking at the now. And would I like a million bucks? Hell yeah! But would I want to sacrifice everything I stand for just for the selfish need of… making my family happy? I would have to live with that bastard I call myself, knowing that I let a bank robber get away. That’s makes a bad reputation for a prosecuting attorney!

The point is, the who you want to be should be a person you’re happy with. The only person you will stay with for the rest of your life is not your significant other. It is not your mom (hopefully not!). It is you so you better go and make sure that you don’t hate yourself.

The best way to do this… is with a role model! A role model like Brad Pitt, Angelina Jolie, Sammy Sosa? No. I’ll go more into selecting a viable role model in tomorrow’s post.

Until then, stay sharp!

To your success,

Rasheed

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Aliaa permalink
    November 13, 2010 8:25 am

    Hey, I finally had time to read your posts from the past week. I am at a crossroad now, in terms of my job and I would like to thank you for voicing the whole idea of thinking about “who you are” , who you want to be and so on. Well, I’ve got some figuring out to do, but thanks for getting it started! 🙂

    • November 13, 2010 11:09 am

      Hey Aliaa! I’m glad you like these series of posts! I need feedback like this so I can know what to write about, so your comment is very much appreciated!
      Good luck at figuring out what to do, but just remember that your job will never define you, so never let someone tell you, “what do you know, you’re just a…” and I’d finish that sentence if I knew what you did! Haha.

Leave a Reply

