Skip to content

The Need for Teachers

November 10, 2010

The world needs teachers. There’s no doubt about that. Without your parents teaching you to read or talk, you’d be an illiterate person not being able to function properly in the world. Worse yet, you wouldn’t be able to read my blog!! I know that is a terrible thought, but aren’t you happy you can read?

Without your grade school teachers you wouldn’t know a lot of things! It is essential for the world to have teachers. No doubt about that. There are too many mistakes to make in the world for any one person to make them all. That is why we have teachers who teach us the right things to do, and who tell us what the wrong things to do are. This does not necessarily mean school teachers. Now don’t get me wrong, being a school teacher is a very noble job; it is very difficult and the pay is not stellar for the amount of work done. My mother’s a school teacher, so I know this for a fact.

But who says we need credentials in order to teach? Well, the government says we need credentials in order to teach academics. But there’s more to life than academics. You can burn me at the stake later. There are many things that school just doesn’t teach. For example, how to spend wisely. I hang out a lot at my school’s cafe eating my mother’s nicely prepared lunch for me, and the place is crowded with people buying overpriced food. And some people eat there every day. I used to eat out every day. Even a dollar a day grew expensive. Twenty dollars per month can be saved just by bringing food from home. Don’t even get me started on the amount of money people will throw down for a game of beer pong.

Another example is how to manage a love life! It seems like the craze in college, for guys at least, is to sleep around with as many girls as possible! To me, that’s just a waste of talent. Believe me. It took until high school to learn that talking to a girl isn’t such a splendorous feat to go bragging to my friends. Haha.

Anyway, my point is that the academic system is not set up to make successful people out of all of us. It’s set up to educate. And education does not necessarily entail success. I know some highly educated people who are single, lonely, and hate every moment of it. Just Google “Lawyer Suicide” and let the search results astound you. I know some uneducated people who have families they absolutely love, and love their lives. It doesn’t matter how much money they make, it matters if they’re happy with their lives.

Of course, it’s never bad to be educated and successful.

And that brings me to where I left off in my last post. Make a mistake, learn to fix it/fix it, and teach it.

We need people who are willing to humble themselves enough to admit that they’ve made a mistake. You know those arrogant guys who think they’re so perfect? Those are the kinds of people we don’t need. They make a mistake. They learn to fix it when no one’s looking. Then they fix it themselves and let no one know of the mistake. That helps people… how? It doesn’t. Many people may or may not fall into that guy’s mistake.

Now of course, not everyone is required to help people out. Anyone can do whatever the hell they want, and the world will not stop turning. But in my opinion, it is nice to help people out. That is why I have this blog. I’ve made my share of mistakes in my life, but I also read a lot about mistakes other people have made in their lives. So I share them with you guys on this blog.

Are you cut out to be a teacher? All it takes is a bit of humility and the want to serve others. If you have neither of those, don’t bother teaching because you’ll just get frustrated.

And in one week’s time… you guys will be treated to a nice little treat 🙂 I’m putting my heart into this project. More info later.

To your success,

Rasheed

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

