Skip to content

Afformations

September 24, 2010

To start, I should mention that I’ll be doing some minor changes to my blog’s layout. Primarily because my friend Brijal Vadgama was generous enough to make me a logo! Go to her for all your graphic needs!

*I get no affiliate commission for referrals, I think everyone needs a logo though!

Alright, to business! I was reading one of my mentors’ blog posts, which I’ll summarize briefly.

Some of you may know what affirmations are. And no, it’s not an answer in the affirmative. It’s a bit deeper than that.

The principle of affirmations is simple. Every morning, write down what you would like about yourself and/or your life, if you were living the life you wanted to.

These were my affirmations from about a week ago:

I am happy I am not in debt.
It’s great to be able to help my parents out financialy and physically.
I love the wind on my face as I’m cruising in my Ferrari.
My wife and kids are more than I could ever ask for in a family.

So if you do a few affirmations every morning, whatl happen? Well, first of all, one of the unwritten laws of life is this: You get what you picture.

Hear that?

You get what you picture.

What does that mean? Well, we’re all familiar with Murphy’s Law: “What can go wrong will go wrong.”

I’m not going to bold that, even though it’s true. Why? It’s just the negative version of the aforementioned law. Well, I don’t know what the following law is called, but let’s call it Smurfy’s Law: “What can go right will go right.”

What can go right will go right.

Hm, imagine that! We always focus on the negative, then we wonder why our lives suck, and believe our lives won’t get better, and still wonder why our lives aren’t better, and we go into a perpetual spiral to the bottom. And I’m pretty sure it’s not as fun as a water slide that does the same.

What’s the point of all that? Well, that’s where affirmations come in. You write down what you would like about your life if you were living the life you wanted to live. Then subconsciously, you’re thinking about it all day.

The thing is, affirmations come in two flavors: affirmations and afformations.

Afformations take the affirmations concept a little bit further, as author Noah St. John has stated in his book Afformations. Instead of writing down what you would like, you write down why you would like it.

Let’s look at my previous list once more.

I am happy I am not in debt
It’s great to be able to help my parents out financialy and physically
I love the wind on my face as I’m cruising in my Ferrari
My wife and kids are more than I could ever ask for in a family

Now, let’s afform these affirmations.

Why am I happy I am not in debt?
Why is it great to be able to help my parents out financially and physically?
Why do I love the wind on my face as I’m cruising in my Ferrari?
Why are my wife and kids more than I could ever ask for in a family?

When you afform your statements in such a way, you focus both on what sort of life you’d like to live, and why you would want to live that sort of life. And there’s no stronger motivation than a why.

You don’t need to answer those questions. Just write them. Your subconscious will do the rest.

Try this for 60 days. You won’t get any migraines, and it only takes about five minutes per day. Do it on the train ride, bus ride, car ride, while walking, doesn’t matter when or where you do it, but do it. Five minutes per day is not a lot to invest in your future, is it?

And if you notice your life get immensely better in sixty days, I’d love to hear your story in the comments section! Also, feel free to post a few comments with some additional affirmations or afformations, to get those people with uncreative minds like myself a bit of a headstart.

Credit of afformations goes to Noah St. Johns, in is book The Secret Code of Success.

To your success,
Rasheed

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2010 11:23 am

    Hi Rasheed: Noah St. John here, the inventor of Afformations and author you quoted in your article.

    Thank you very much for the post. I’m delighted you’re enjoying Afformations and the book.

    Your readers can also get the first 3 chapters of the book (Free) at

    Afformations.com

    Hope this helps you, too. Keep me posted…

    Ask away,
    ~Noah
    iAfform.com

    • September 27, 2010 8:28 pm

      Thank you Mr. St. John! It’s such an honor that you commented on my blog! I hope I can write more quality posts that attract more successful people such as yourself!

Leave a Reply

