Skip to content

Blogging with Purpose

September 19, 2010

Since I no longer wish to blog randomly, spurting out random bits of info, I am now blogging with purpose, as I mentioned in my previous blog post. The purpose is to make people realize their potential. And then how to fulfill their potential.

Though it applies to everyone, it particularly applies to my fellow college students who don’t really have financial woes. And sorry, undergraduate school loans don’t count as financial woes. Come back when you rack up a few hundreds of thousands of dollars in debt on grad school, a car,a house, and credit cards. Those are the kinds of points you don’t want a high score on.

So why write about finance when I don’t even have financial woes myself? Why write about relationship woes when I don’t have any myself? Granted, i’d like to solve those problems. But it’s impossible to empathize when I have not experienced the problem. I can read up on the problem and its solution all I want, conduct personal interviews with all of the gurus of life, and even publish my own books. But unless you can relate to me, you probably won’t listen.

Don’t believe me? When you were a teenager, what was probably the number one thing you thought of your parents? “They don’t understand.” You just thought they were being bossy and just liked telling you what to do.

But then what did your parents say? “I know how you feel, because I felt that way.” And then you probably said, “but my situation’s different!” (Hint: it’s probably not all that different than your parents’ “)

Then later on in your journey through life, you may have realized, “Hey, Mum/Dad was right.” And perhaps some may mourn and say, “I wish Mum/Dad were still here so I could ask her for advice in these tough times…”

This isn’t a blog post about appreciating your parents (though everyone should! I love my mom and dad very much 🙂 ), it’s a blog post about empathy.

The moral of this example was that if I can’t empathize with you and prove that I’ve been in your shoes, you probably won’t listen to me. This is a fundamental principle in getting people to listen to your advice–you must empathize with them.

Some people have massive egos that don’t fit through the gigantic double-doors of a castle, and will always think, “Man! You don’t know what you’re talking about! My situation’s different! You don’t know me!” And perhaps I don’t. But I’d like you to compare that statement with the hypothetical teenager’s statement to his parents.

Okay. So what have I been through and what can I empathize with? If you saw my recent YouTube video, you’d know that I’ve gone through my own downtime in life. A downtime specific to network marketers who can empathize with me for sure. But it’s the same both inside and outside of network marketing. Before: hopeless. Trying all the wrong things and having them fail. After: hopeful again, trying all the right things and having them work for you and with you!

I remember a time last summer when I was just working the daily grind at the Medical Center. Going home and playing videogames because I had no friends. Pondering, what am I doing with my life? Sure I went to college, though school hadn’t started yet. What more could I be doing with my life?

I remember I had just finished reading John Maxwell’s 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership and talking to a friend about it, and he said, “It’s good information, but useless if you don’t apply it.”

About a week after that, I was reading another book (can’t remember what book, pretty sure it was by Maxwell as well, though) while waiting for students to come in at work. My supervisor noticed me reading the book and started talking to me about it. I told him that I was reading self-help books to grow myself, but that I wasn’t sure how to apply it.

He introduced me to an entirely new level of thinking. And it all amounted to this: life is pointless without dreams.

Hear that? Maybe bold will make it resonate.

Life is pointless without dreams.

That’s a rather bold statement to make! (Cue pity laugh)

If you aren’t looking forward to your future, why live?

Why continue to live a sub-standard life if you don’t think things will get better? Do you enjoy living a boring life?

Homework assignment:

If time and money were no option…

Where would you live?
Who would you live with?
What sort of house would you live in?
What would you drive?
What would your spouse drive?
Where would your kids go to school?
Or would you homeschool them?
What time would you get up every day? Or would you get up in the afternoon?
Who would you hang out with?
What would you have for breakfast? Lunch? Dinner? Dessert?
What causes would you support?

Those are just a few questions to get you started. Are these materialistic? I think it goes beyond materialism. Sure, driving a Ferrari may be materialistic. But is your Ferrari hurting anyone? I think it may have better gas mileage than my Taurus! And there’s nothing wrong with a bit of luxury. I’d say its a bit much that the Sultans of some places coat their toilets with gold, just because they have nothing better to do with it (I wouldn’t mind some gold, Mr. Sultan!) but a Ferrari isn’t really unreasonable to want. Some guys just want to be able to go fast. Really fast. I love high speed rides!

Anyway, go ahead and answer those questions for yourself. Next time, we’ll go over how to take yourself to those dreams.

To your abundance,
Rasheed

PS it’s been a hectic week. I’m trying to get back into the habit of blogging every morning. Bear with me :).

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 5:20 am

    Sorta like a mix bag of objectivity and subjectivity 🙂

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/greenslade/2010/sep/20/blogging-new-york-times

    Baraka Allahu fik
    Abah

    • September 27, 2010 8:26 pm

      Haha. I try to have concrete facts, as well as my own opinion/critique. It’s a blog, not a textbook!

  2. September 23, 2010 5:54 am

    Nice piece of facts that you’ve got in this website submit. Hope I can get some much more of this stuff on your weblog. I’ll occur back.

    • September 27, 2010 8:27 pm

      Thank you 創業 ! When you come back, could you tell me how to write your name like that? Or perhaps how to pronounce it? It’s very fascinating!

  3. October 2, 2010 6:31 am

    Make your blog more viral, by tapping into facebook:
    http://www.ruhanirabin.com/integrate-social-networking-wordpress-using-facebook-connect-api-wordpress-plugin-tutoria/

    Let me know if you need help.

    Baraka Allahu fikum
    Love you
    Abah

    • October 2, 2010 9:10 am

      I want to try that out but that uses wordpress.org. I’m using the wordpress.com web-based client. WordPress.org requires a registered domain and hosting. =(

      • October 2, 2010 11:31 am

        I forgot you are on wp.com. The best you can do is probably add more sharing options with getsocialive.com

      • October 3, 2010 6:58 pm

        Ah. I’ll look into it on how to implement the code. I’m trying to keep the layout simple because I see a lot of other blogs that are cluttered with a bajillion “share this” and it makes it nigh impossible to find Facebook or Twitter. Those two are the two most popular so that’s what I want to capitalize on for now.

  4. October 8, 2010 1:28 am

    A actually great submit by you my friend. We have bookmarked this page and will appear back following several days to examine for any new posts that you simply make.

Leave a Reply

