Skip to content

Revival

September 13, 2010

Hey there.

I’m back. It’s been a busy week. Finals, plus end of Ramadan, and my sister & bro-in-law visiting, just sort of called for a lot of family time. But I know you don’t care, so I’ll make up for my absence in this post.

While I want to get into the topic of goals, during the past few days, I thought about the direction I wanted to take this blog in. Do I want to cater to college students? Adults? Both? Do I want to write about everything? Or just a single principle and elaborate on it?

I don’t really have an answer to the first question. But I do want to specialize. I think the most important thing for people to realize is their potential. Success comes in two steps: realizing your potential, then attaining it. And I want everyone to realize their potential… I don’t mean for my blog to be a be-all-end-all blog (or whatever that term is). I want it to be a step in the right direction. I really believe that everyone reading my blog (yes, all 60+ of you, I love you all!) is taking a step in the right direction. Why? Not because I’m some sort of success guru. Not because I’m a genius. Or not even because my articles are all that revolutionary. Then why? Well, if you’re reading this blog, you truly care about your success. You care about your future. And chances are, you don’t stop there. You continue on. Read other good blogs, or books. You increase your knowledge about what you can do to take control of your future. And if you don’t yet, that’s fine. You’ll hit that level. I’ll help you reach that level of hunger. Your mind may be malnourished, or even poisoned… we need to break your everlasting fast of good information!

So I thought about this blog’s future. It seems to have taken off very well, and that clearly means that you guys want more. You expect more from me. And hopefully I can hold up to your expectations. So that’s why I did some game-planning with the success of this blog. I determined the potential, and tried to figure out how to make it reach its potential.

And that was exactly what I needed to write about. That’s exactly what I want this blog to be. A blog about helping people find their potential. This blog has the potential to help a lot of people figure out exactly what they want from life. Especially at my age, a lot of people do not know what they want out of life.

To be honest, I chose chemical engineering as my major because 1) someone told me it was the hardest major ever, and I wanted to call their bluff and 2) I felt that I’d be cheating myself if I chose an “easier” major such as Political Science. Not that a major such as that is easy, but I wouldn’t be exercising all of the parts of my brain that I could be. That’s just my opinion though, you can major in whatever you want.

As long as you know why you chose it. Too many of my peers have dropped their majors because they found that they don’t really want to go into that field. Before choosing any major, or making any big decision, follow these three steps: Define. Learn. Do. Define how you want your life to be. What you want to do. Learn how to do it from a professional. And then just do it. If you wanna be a doctor, then ask a doctor, “how do you become a doctor?” Then take his advice and do it. Learn from someone who’s traversed the minefield.

So as I was saying, many people don’t know what they want out of life. Many people live life just to get by. What kind of living is that? That’s not living, that’s earning the money to pay for your own damn funeral. If you truly believe you were born to work for someone else, doing something you don’t really want to do, making your boss rich, that’s fine. Go ahead and do it. But I believe you have so much more potential than that. I believe you can do what you want to do, and earn what you want to earn. You have the power to do anything you want to do.

You know that saying, “when there’s a will, there’s a way?” If you truly have a will to do great things, they’ll get done. That’s just a fact of life. And that’s great. It weeds out the people who don’t have the will to do anything. If we all arrived at success by random chance, then no one would do anything to try to achieve success. No, in this world, we need to have the will to succeed before we succeed. Do you think for a moment that Michael Jordan just sorta woke up one day, said, “I’m gonna try out for the NBA!” and made it? No. He was cut from his high school basketball team. But he wanted to be a star in basketball so badly that he didn’t let his negative coach bring him down. He practiced. He saw his vision. He felt his vision. He’d dream of how he was a star in basketball. He didn’t need to join the NBA to be a star. He was already a star in his mind. Reality just hadn’t caught up.

So are you going to let your circumstances control your destiny? Or are you going to take control of your circumstances to create the future you want? We were given free will for a reason. Are you going to waste the ability to make rational decisions, just to live an unfulfilled life? Please don’t. Do yourself a favor. After reading this blog, go to the library and pick up a book called Awaken the Giant Within by Anthony Robbins. He was a little bit older than I am right now when he first got started in coaching people. So I’m beating him by a few years!

Pick up that book, and read it within the next month. My good friend gave me that book for graduation, and I was really grateful for that. It’s an amazing book, and it will help you realize your true potential. It will motivate you to do great things. To move mountains. And to give you the tenacity to not give up.

So don’t give up. Ever. Your future is worth more than the opinions of a few naysayers.

To your abundance,

Rasheed

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 10:23 pm

    yeah my dad will like this

Leave a Reply

