Skip to content

He dribbles the ball, and goes for a score…!

September 7, 2010

He kicks the ball with all his might! The man in front of the net dives for the ball! And he misses!! The red team has scored a goal!!!

I’m not into soccer football (I have non-Americans reading this blog). So I’m not sure if that’s how commentators actually commentate. But for the sake of argument, we have a red team and a blue team. And they’re playing football.

Hey. What’s the point of football?

Now I can see you football fans, baring your teeth because I just insulted your life, retorting, “Hey! What’s the point of your life??”

Well, I think that’s fair. And I think the answers are the same.

Simply put, the points of football and life are to make goals.

What’s life without goals? A bunch of people doing random things for no apparent reason, or, “for fun.”

What’s football without goals? A bunch of people kicking a ball around. Or, a bunch of people doing random things for no apparent reason, or, “for fun.”

We need a purpose to live. Why are you doing what you’re doing? If you’re in college, you want a degree, so you can get a job. If you’re working, you want money, so you can support your family and do fun things. Like buy the newest iPod touch. Or go skydiving. Or go on vacation.

But those are pretty much the goals that we have by default. Because as humans, we have the will to live. Without money, it can be very difficult to live. And we want out family to live good lives. So we earn money so they can live good lives.

Duh!

Let’s go further. What are five things in your life that you MUST do before you die? It’s a five-element bucket list.

Here’s mine.

1) Develop a strong relationship with God

2) Have a nice passive income

3) Live where I want to live (as of right now, it’s California, so I’m 20% done!)

4) Publish a book

5) Start a family

So with these awesome five things I want to do, I should do things that take me closer to those goals, right? After all, let’s say I die at 80. Morbid, I know right? Well I’m 25% done with my life. And I’ve only completed 20% of my bucket list. I’m behind.

So let’s break it down even more. To yearly goals.

What are a few things I need to get done every year in order to take me closer to my end goals?

Well having a good relationship with God is probably something I’ll never achieve. Why? Because my relationship will never be good enough. I don’t feel like getting into a religious discussion here, but I’ll just say that it makes sense.

I can start building my passive income now. And I already am. Business and investing are the most convenient ways to have a good passive income. Since I don’t have a few thousand I can throw at stocks right now, I’m spending time building a business. You can email me if you want to know what it is, but that’s up to you.

I’m living in CA! Whoo! Check.

And I’m thinking of writing  a self-help book based on my blog. And my novels too. So I’m on my way to that.

Building a family is a bit beyond me. I can hardly take care of myself, let alone a family. So after I get a stable job and/or build a steady enough passive income, I’ll work on the family. Doesn’t mean I can’t read books about having a successful family 😛

Even down to the day, I do things that help me in my goals. Reading Qur’an, reading books, writing my blog, watching training videos, etc… all of that helps with my big five.

So what are your big five? Those are the five goals you need to score before you die. Feel free to share them in the comments!

To your success,

Rasheed

PS: I apologize for the lack of a post in the past few days. Things have been hectic, and will be hectic for the next week (finals). And with the end of Ramadan coming up, we’re in massive cleaning mode. So I may or may not post in the next few days, but just so you know, I’m not dead.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 6:43 am

    You may want to try lulu.com to publish your books/publications.

Leave a Reply

