Skip to content

Change Starts NOW

September 2, 2010

Change Starts NOW

Have you ever wanted to reform?

Have you ever wanted to give up your old ways and start anew?

Have you ever wanted to become a new person because you did not like the person you were turning into?

If you answered no to any of those questions, feel free to click on the X button at the top of your browser–I don’t help liars.

We all feel like we can do more things in our lives. We all believe we can manage our time better. We all believe that we could be doing so much more than we already are.

But why aren’t we? Even though we’ve realized that a little change would be good in our lives, why doesn’t the change get implemented?

I’ve heard it all too often. One of my friends would say, “I’ll study harder next quarter!” I’ve heard it ever since high school, “I’ll study harder in college!”

And what happens? Nothing! “Next quarter” rolls into “next year” rolls into “senior year” and study habits never change.

And then when you start working and try to change, you remember the time you tried to change back in college and nothing got done. So, you figure you’re fine where you are, and so you don’t even bother trying to change! That way, you have no disappointments!

Well, sorry to burst everyone’s bubbles, but change is necessary in everyone’s life. We live in a changing society. The skills needed thirty years ago are in less demand now. The skills needed now were pretty much non-existent thirty years ago. Plus, everyone can stand to change for the better. Even Steve Jobs. He reads my blog, you know? (One sentence in this paragraph is wishful thinking.)

So you’ve determined exactly what you need to change about yourself. (If  you’re not happy with your life and don’t know what to change, feel  free to email me and I’ll work with you). For example, let’s say you wanted to quit smoking. You say to yourself, “I’ll quit smoking after this pack! I don’t want to waste cigarettes!”

You finish the pack. “Yeah! I’m done with smoking!” You high five yourself.

Then your bud, who you regularly smoke with, comes over and he goes out for a smoke, asking if you’d like to join him. You tell yourself, “eh, I’m not gonna smoke… I’ll just chat with him.”

You guys are hangin’ out, and you smell the beautiful odor of the smoke, craving a cigarette. Your bud notices you aren’t smoking, and offers you a cigarette. You’re craving it so much… and you tell yourself, “It’s just this once. It won’t do any harm.”

BAM. After one day of having quit smoking, you succumbed to the addiction.

Addictions aren’t the only thing people can change about themselves. They can get into a good habit, such as studying. Typically though, the changes that are the addition of a good habit or omission of a bad one, are the sorts of changes that people are prone to procrastinate on. Changing one’s mindset to say, wealth thinking, doesn’t really take action. It just takes new information.

Bottom line is, don’t give yourself excuses when it comes to change. The moment you allow an exception, you’ll fall back to what’s comfortable and have to start back at square one.

So do you have a bad habit you’d be better off without? Or is there a good habit in mind you’d like to introduce into your life? Don’t wait ‘til tomorrow to change! Act now! (Suddenly I feel like I’m on an infomercial.)

I’d love to hear what sorts of good habits people are looking to get into in the comments!

To your abundance,

Rasheed

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2010 12:13 am

    I liked this blog. I would like to get into being more organized! I hope this blog will motivate me. To your abudance, Faline.

    • September 2, 2010 12:16 am

      Thanks Faline! This blog’s for motivation and just to show that you aren’t alone. Read the “About” page for more info! 🙂

  2. September 26, 2010 7:44 pm

    gonna send this to my mom

Leave a Reply

