Skip to content

A Change of Thinking

August 31, 2010

What inspires people to do things?

What inspires them to step out of their comfort zone and do something they’d never done before?

Let’s turn the tables.

What inspires you to do things?

What inspires you to step out of your comfort zone and do something that you’ve never done before?

Is it a story? A quote? A book? A movie? A person?

That’s quite a lot of sources of inspiration. Why don’t we put a blanket over it.

New information inspires people to do new things.

What made you want to start studying more? The knowledge that if you wouldn’t, you’d fail a class.

What made you want to enter college? The knowledge that you probably couldn’t get the job you wanted if you didn’t.

What made you want to read my blog? The knowledge that either a) I have one or b) you could be helped by it.

Heck, what made me want to start my blog? The knowledge that a) I could help people with it and b) I could help myself with it.

Most new information is gained by reading or watching. I read a few articles and watched a few webinars that said that I could help myself, and others, to success if I started a blog. So I started a blog. Though people seem to be shy about leaving comments, I’ve heard personal testimonies as to how my blog has helped people. And that makes me happy. I like being able to help people.

So let’s say you come across new information, but have no idea how to apply it?

I found myself in this very situation last summer. I’d finished reading 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership by John Maxwell, and I was eager to put them into practice!

But a few problems. I was not the manager of anyone. Nor was I the CEO of any company. I wasn’t the committee leader of anything, and at that time, I had very few friends who really respected me.

Huh.

So I sort of wandered around having great knowledge that I couldn’t really apply. I’m sure a few of you know how that is… you read the DaVinci Code and you were all fired up, thinking everything was a lie!!

And then someone came up to you, saying, “So what?”

And you were like, “Well… we’ve been had! We’ve been lied to all our lives!”

And your pal replied, “So what?”

And you were flabbergasted and irritated that your friend was so dense-headed!! He couldn’t see that the fabric of the world was collapsing around him and you were trying to save him!!

“Wait Rasheed,” you say. “That never happened to me after I read the DaVinci code.”

Well, perhaps I took that book a bit too seriously. Cut me some slack, I was 16 when I read it.

Getting back on point, knowledge is pretty useless if you can’t apply it. You may read my blog and learn something about managing your money. “Yeah! I’m gonna be rich!” You’re excited! But… you have no income. (Hint: you should get a job)

Now I’m not saying you should stop reading new information. New information is actually quite valuable. For example, my guilty pleasure is a website called http://www.cracked.com. Many of you may know that hours of my day can be spent on this website…

This website has a ton of information, presented in a humorous way.

However, as much as I may deny it, I’m never going to be able to apply the fact that Greek sculptures were not originally marble white (they had lots of vibrant colours). Nor will I ever have any use for knowing that Vikings did not indeed wear horned helmets (why would they wear anything their opponents can grab onto and use for leverage?). But I read it for entertainment, not for information. Plus, its fun to be able to impress friends by saying, “I know this random fact! :O” but for the most part, the information is useless.

I’m sure many of you watch Mythbusters, but keep in mind that it’s a TV show. It’s made for entertainment. Not for any real practical use.

Information is good. But you need to look at relevant information. When I want to read something beneficial, I pick up a nonfiction book that applies to my life. Or perhaps i’d browse facebook to see what issues my targeted audience seems to be facing (who knew you could use facebook to be productive?) and do research on how one could go about solving their problems, and write on it.

And that really ties into the entire point of this post.

My updates to this blog will be erratic and seemingly random–only because a friend of mine was helpful and introduced me to a book series called Problogger, based on a course where 11,000 professional bloggers attended and shared their ideas.

The book I’m currently reading is 31 Days to Build a Better Blog. And I’m trying to apply a few principles every so often, and that  in me dividing my “blogging” time between reading & doing the exercises in the book (yep, there’s homework) and actually writing posts. “Yeah yeah, so what? What’s that mean for me?” you’re probably asking me.

Well, as you may have noticed, I’ve been MIA for the past few days. This is because of this division in time. I’m going to be doing my best to keep my posts up every day, but if I fail, I apologize.

However, you can expect better quality blogging somewhere within 2 weeks! Isn’t growing up fun?

If you want to read something on the days I’m disappeared, I suggest you read Think and Grow Rich, by Napoleon Hill. It’s available for free as an eBook, shoot me an email at abustamam@ucdavis.edu and I’ll give you the download link.

To your success,

Rasheed

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

