Skip to content

“Why can’t you be a normal 20-year old?”

August 25, 2010

I was catching up with a friend yesterday, and she asked me something that actually made me think. “Why can’t you be a normal 20-year old? You know, be young, enjoy life while you can?”

So I thought about it for a moment. Then I replied,

“Why not? Why not share my ideas with other people? Why not use my potential to help myself and other people? Prepare for my future? Help others prepare for their futures? Why not? Why live in a self-centered life and think only about myself?”

It’s not like I’m an abnormal 20-year old. I go to school just like most 20-year olds I know, and I do the same as all of them. The only thing that differs is what I do with my spare time. Some choose to party, sleep, play videogames, or whatever. Nothing’s wrong with that. But I choose to read, grow myself, and share my knowledge and experience with others. The way I see it, if I could prepare myself for a better future now, I want to do it. I heard a quote once that said something like, “Regret for things we did will soon pass over. It is regret for things we did not do that will haunt us for the rest of our lives.” And that’s too true. Why didn’t I save more when I was working in high school? Why didn’t I work harder in high school and save a lot of time in college? Why didn’t I? And I have no answers for those questions, which make them all the more regrettable. So why not reduce some of those future regrets?

I’m not advising anyone to start investing at the age of 15, or to start a business at the age of 18. Heck, I don’t advise a lot of people to step into my footsteps. However, when I look at other people my age who have already have the rest of their lives made, I ask myself, “why couldn’t I do what they did?”

The answer to that one is simple. Lack of information. To prevent that from happening to myself, and people I know, I am trying to relay information.

The future doesn’t start after college. It doesn’t start after your first job. Or after you get married. Or after you have kids. It starts now. What are you doing now to prepare for your future?

Preparing for your future doesn’t take a lot of sacrifice. Why don’t you read a little bit every day. 10 minutes. 20 minutes. Half an hour? If anyone needs any suggestions as to what they should read, maybe I’ll do a post on that in the near future. Look for authors like Zig Ziglar, Brian Tracy, Robert Kiyosaki, for starters. Their books are all best-sellers and should be available at your local library. You can afford 30 minutes a day. It’s a small sacrifice to make a big change in your future.

Take care, all.

Rasheed.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2010 6:22 pm

    Nicely put, Rasheed :).

Trackbacks

  1. “So You Wanna Be a Hero, Kid?” « Blog2Success

Leave a Reply

