Skip to content

Discussion time! “Do not confuse motion and progress”

August 23, 2010

Alright, so I’m thinking maybe once a week, I post a quote or something that makes you think, and we discuss it’s validity and how it could help YOU become the person YOU want to be.

I guess I’ll just post one I read today.

“Do not confuse motion and progress. A rocking horse makes a lot of motion but moves nowhere.”

Though this may seem irrelevant to life, how many times have you been busy all day and got NOTHING done? I suppose today may be one of those days for me, though I listened to several training modules. Nothing really got DONE though.

And I’m sure many of you have been in the same situation. You were working all day, had a giant to-do list, and you worked at all of them! But at the end of the day, nothing on your to-do list got marked off.

Why’s this?

Easy. You overwhelmed yourself. Never trust yourself to do 20 things by tomorrow. You won’t get them done. Worse yet, you’ll lose faith in yourself to get things done. If you assign yourself 20 things to do tomorrow, and get only 3 or 4 done, you’ll be like, “Aw man! I only got less than a fraction of things done!”

But if you assign yourself 3-5 things to get done in a day, and dedicate your day to them, you’ll have them done in better quality, and at the end of the day, you’ll say, “hey! I got 100% of my things done! Let’s try it again tomorrow!”

For example, I have about a billion training modules to sift through. But I’m only allowing myself to watch maybe two or three in a day. They’re all at least an hour long. So I’m going to watch them over the course of the next month. So you can expect better content to be on this blog within the next month 😛

So if you keep it simple, and don’t overwhelm yourself, you’ll be surprised at how productive you can be. Try making a to-do list every night. 5 things to do by the end of the next day. And have them be worthwhile things. Don’t put “brush my teeth” or “snooze the alarm for 5 minutes.” It’s your list. No one’s gonna see it but you. So if you’re going to do a list, make it good. What do you expect to accomplish during the day? Whatever it is, make sure your tasks take you to your goal.

If your goal is to learn the material for your physics midterm (as is my goal tomorrow) then a task would be “study for 3 hours.” I’m not going to put “study econ for three hours” because that takes me no closer to my goal. Though I’ll be productive, I won’t get anything done.

Speaking of econ, I have to go and do the rest of the week’s homework for that class.

Stay sharp, and I’ll catch you soon!

Rasheed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

